top of page

Crucial balance

I studied StarCraft II: Legacy of the Void and League of Legends to figure out a guideline for balance work. Based on the case studying, I made the Goblin as the standard in balance adjustment. All the values of cost and income were referred to the combat performance of a Goblin and how many materials or manas it will drop. Also, I adjusted the attributes of all the equipment and effects using the same method.

And I put the weighted random sampling into the game to generate the enemies and the equipment. Different types and levels of monsters and equipment have different spawn probability. The preset randomness will make sure the player will not suffer a tough time without any equipment to use or wipe out the monsters too easily. And I made up a formula to calculate the combat capability point that evaluate the ability of monsters in dealing damage, survivability, and the influence of moving patter and special skills.


bottom of page